The Standards: Moving from “Common” to Dynamic Learning | CTQ

Here is the Ying to my Yang. Ms. Hiltz makes good points in support of Common Core. Many of which I don’t disagree. I agree with the higher order thinking expectations. I agree with challenging our students to expand their thinking. I agree with that. I even agree that it has changed how I teach! You have to change how you teach in order to teach the Common Core. There’s no way around it. It’s the assessment piece that has me at my wits end. I believe the combination of the two, Common Core and PARCC,  work against each other like oil and vinegar. Teaching students a variety of strategies and alternative thought processes make absolute sense to me, however, not allowing students the autonomy to choose the strategy that best fits them on the assessment bothers me. Again, I say, children think differently and learn differently and should be able to use strategies that have become comfortably familiar to them to support their way of thinking. None the less, I appreciate Ms. Hiltz’s viewpoint and thought I’d share it with you. And so, the battle continues…

http://www.teachingquality.org/content/blogs/julie-hiltz/standards-moving-common-dynamic-learning

2 comments on “The Standards: Moving from “Common” to Dynamic Learning | CTQ

  1. Wendy Camper says:

    I agree! As I have intensly studied the English Language Arts CCSS I am almost afraid to say, I see beauty in the progression of literacy. I agree our students, my own children need the skills, foundations, and experiences from the standards. Now, the assessments being dumped all over the process are horrible. The Ohio Department of Education released the most updated testing time schedules for the Next Generation Assessments for Ohio students. Yes, the ODE wants to call the PARCC – Next Generation Assessments, but they are the PARCC for ELA and Math and new AIR assessments for science and social studies. My point, for a typical 3rd grader the testing minutes for the 2014’15 school year are 530. This does not include any district required assessment, nothing for our SLOs, and does not include any meaningful assessment that might improve or guide the learning for that individual child sitting in a classroom.

    As I have learned the history behind the common core movement I am told we as a nation needed to improve the rigor and quality of our educational system. I agree. But.
    We are compaired to higher performing nations that do not play by our USA public education rules.
    First of all, they do not structure and measure school and student performance, and now teacher performance based on high stakes assessment.
    Many of these countries have substantially longer school years and school days.
    Teaching, as a profession, is held in much higher regard resulting in higher salaries, as well as, a different level of respect from the community.
    And, many do not test ALL of their students. I had to write several letters to my local school board to protect my special needs son from being forced to participate in battery of assessments that will nothing but remind him how cognitively challenged he truly is.

    My concern – the implementation. Yes, we need the CCSS, but adopting these standards is only a fraction of the reform necessary to cause real change for the learners in the USA. You can not bake a cake with eggs and flour alone, well you could but it will taste awful.

    • Yes! Absolutely! There are so many tributaries that are unaccounted for! Don’t get me started on evaluations and SLOs!! {Boooo!!} 530 minutes for a 3rd grader!! That’s almost 9 hours!!!! They can’t sit still for 9 MINUTES let alone 9 hours!! Goodness gracious!

      The movement from the old traditional cookie cutter practice to more rigor and relevance makes perfect sense! Learning needs to be relevant and our students thinking should be challenged. I get that. You are so right, as I’ve had the opportunity to speak to educators from places such as Finland, I to have learned that we are held at such low regard in this country. We are so concerned about keeping up with the Jones’s on the educational reform bandwagon that we don’t take the time to research what is working in other countries. We want our students performing like those in other countries but we’re also to proud to copy it. We want it “Made in the USA”! In the words of the great Dr. Phil… “How’s that work in for ya?” 😉

      Listen, you know I like cake, but hey… Make it with all the necessary ingredients so it doesn’t taste yucky! 🙂

      Thank you for weighing in Ms Wendy!

Leave a Reply

